YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Pinwheel Quilt Blocks! March 24, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,March 2010,Quilting,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 11:37 am
Tags: , , ,

pinwheel quilt, originally uploaded by oldredbarnco

Isn’t this pinwheel quilt top from Old Red Barn Co. (blog here) beautiful ???

I am so excited to share with you my latest quilting project! I was perusing my favorite quilting blogs this cold and snowy (yes, there was actually snow on the ground this morning ARGHHHH!) spring morning when I came across this post at One Shabby Chick (here) asking for 8.5″ pinwheel quilt blocks (super easy tutorial here) to be sent to her so that she can gather them up and send them over to Kathy at Magnolia Designs (“Quilts for Babes” project original story here ~ oh how I teared up when I read this post!).  Kathy will then turn these blocks into lovely little quilts for the babies in ICU over at the local (in Canada!) hospital where her son was born this past July.

Amber from One Shabby Chic is even offering a chance to be entered into an incredible giveaway ~ an assortment of Munki fabrics (I would LOOOVVVEE to add those to my fabric stash!) and a gorgeous (custom made for the winner!) patchwork pillow ~ for those who send her a quilt block(s) or an entire mini quilt (if you are totally inspired!) for this project. To join you just need to leave a comment on Amber’s post over at One Shabby Chic and she will email you with the details ~ but hurry up…the blocks need to get to her by May 1st!

I love getting R.’s input and help (she is so talented when it comes to selecting and pairing fabrics!) on projects we make to donate! I think is important to instill in our children the importance of giving to those in need, especially in fun and creative ways such as this. Donating money is great…but I think it is even better to donate something that is handmade with love! It is my wish that when R. is grown, she will look back at these projects with fondness in her heart, and carry on the tradition!

Now to find some fabrics for my blocks…

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

4 Responses to “Pinwheel Quilt Blocks!”

  1. […] Will be using these fabrics to make the pinwheel blocks for the ICU infant quilts (original post here). […]

  2. kathy murray Says:

    Oh Collette, they are gorgeous…I’m just getting around to reading every one’s blog posts about their donations to my Quilts for Babes project. You are very talented and your post touched me deeply! You will also be entered into my giveaway (although it’s nothing like Amber’s!)…my 9 year old is learning to sew this week (spring break) so that she too can be a part of this project. Giving back is so important and it is so sweet to see their hearts grow as they do it, huh?

    thanks again, Kathy

    • Hi Kathy! I wish I could say I made those beautiful Heather Ross pinwheel quilt blocks, but they are from the Old Red Barn Co. blog. Mine will likely NOT be as lovely, ha ha, but I will try my best. Thanks for entering me in your giveaway! Have fun teaching your little one to sew!

  3. […] pinwheel quilt, quilting for babes, tutorial Remember the Quilting for Babes project posted here (fabric post […]


Leave a comment