YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Still Quilting… November 13, 2010

I feel as though I have been quilting my Mum’s quilt (original post HERE) for forever…

and ever…

and I really am not getting very far!

I’ve been doing straight lines (in groups of 3 every 3 inches on the diagonal of this 70″x70″ quilt)

for a couple of hours a day, every day this week, and I am only now finishing up the first direction.

This has been another “What in the bleep was I thinking???” project.

I came across this lovely quilt at Little Island Quilting HERE and thought my quilt would look beautiful quilted like hers.

I thought to myself, “Self, how hard can it be to sew straight lines?”

(I even followed her lead by not drawing lines or using tape, ha ha, the joke is on me!)

Well here’s my answer…

its pretty darn hard when you have 70 inches of quilt pulling in every which way

and trying to fit under the arm of my sewing machine!

On the upside, my lines are getting much better and my stitches are becoming much more even πŸ˜€

By the end of this quilt, I should think I will be an expert in straight line quilting, ha ha.

I am seriously hoping to finish the other diagonal next week,

so that I’ll have time to get the binding on it before Thanksgiving.

My Mum is making that super long flight from the West Coast to the East Coast

and I sincerely hope she will have a new quilt to drag back home with her!

This is the first quilt I’ve ever made for her and I know she will love it (wonky lines and all!) because she’s good like that.

Happy quilting,

Colette

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Still Quilting…”

  1. gaylebrindley Says:

    Your Mum’s quilt is looking oh, so delicious! I absolutely LOVE all of your fabric choices and can’t see one iota of wonkiness in it!! πŸ˜€

  2. I love the fabrics in your quilt. I dont know how people manage to quilt double quilts on a normal sewing machine ….. like yourself even a single size quilt gave me chronic back and neck ache when quilting it because of all the heaving and rolling involved. Anyway keep going….the quilting I can see in the pictures looks really good.

  3. Jess Says:

    It’s looking pretty good to me, Collette!

  4. […] I am still straight line quilting my Mum’s quilt (HERE) and should be finished this […]


Leave a Reply

