YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

February Girl November 2, 2010

Filed under: Needlework,November 2010,Swaps — The Threaded Nest @ 3:52 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This lovely red oval hoop just arrived from the UK!!!

I was finally able to finish hooping up my “february” girl

and she is ready to be mailed to my secret Scrappy { Hoops } Swap partner!

“Februaury” by Sarah Jane embroidery pattern HERE.

I used THIS tutorial by Aneela to do the raw edge applique.

The back edges were cut with pinking sheers

and then glued the frame.

I used a Kaffe Fasset fabric for the back with a little raw edge applique.

This little hat was inspired by a pattern in Kajsa Wikman’s new book “Scandinavian Stitches”.

I can’t tell you how much I love THIS book and seriously want to make everything in it!

Her blog HERE is equally inspiring and fabulous!

And…I have even started on a couple of projects inspired by her lovely quilts and pillows 😀

The little heart on the hat is cross stitched on 27 ct linen.

“february” and “mamaloves2read” were FMQ with a variegated thread on white linen.

Really, I had so much fun making this scrappy little hoop and can’t wait to make one to match R.’s new bed quilt…

more on that and my other projects later ;D

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

3 Responses to “February Girl”

  1. gaylebrindley Says:

    This little girl is absolutely, positively perfect!! And the hoop is gorgeous – you made a very sophisticated choice. One day you will have to tell me where you got it. :D. Love the itty bitty cross stitch and the fm signature. You have outdone yourself on this one, my dear!!

  2. Aimee Says:

    That’s awfully cute Colette!

  3. Molly Says:

    beautiful!!


Leave a Reply

