YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Blocks, blocks, and more blocks! September 20, 2010

Filed under: Quilting,September 2010,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 7:34 pm
Tags: , ,

I haven’t been blogging…

because I have been quilting like mad!

Block 1 of 4 for the embroider_bee.

Here is a close up of the embroidery.

Pattern is “Scoot” from comforstitching HERE.

I even got a “Wow!  You made that???” from my Hubby!

Jessica asked for a wintry/Scandinavian theme using red green and a touch of aqua.

Only 3 more blocks to make for this bee by the end of the month…

but on the upside, I am FINISHED with all six of my blocks for the 3X6 mini sampler bee!

red, pink, and aqua for Frieda

(this one is begging to stay with me…also my colors for this round!)

red, pink, and gray for my sweet pal Jane!

gray, orange, and white for our “Hive Mama” Penny

(who happens to be a blogland/flickr rock star!  I’m a bit intimidated to send this one…it is far from perfect.)

“make it a rainbow” for Terrie

(hope this is colorful enough!)

pink, yellow, and white for Lisa

orange, red, and white for Angela.

Phew I am wiped!

I had a hard time getting inspired on a block to make for this bee.

The blocks that get turned out by all the gals are fantastic!

Last week when I was flipping through the Gaiam catalog

I came across this “Shaker Square Patchwork Quilt” HERE

and instantly new I wanted to make a block using little squares.

I sat down with a pencil and some paper and figured up some dimensions…

and whatta ya know ~ it worked :p

I think one more row (to make 16 squares) would make a lovely little wall hanging/doll quilt.

R. is completely in LOVE with this block and wants me to make her a quilt for her bed using it

we’ll have to see ;D

I’m about half way there with my quilting bees/swaps

I better sew sew sew and then sew some more!

Happy quilting,

Colette

 

3 Responses to “Blocks, blocks, and more blocks!”

  1. Molly Says:

    All of the blocks are adorable. Love the ones with the little umbrella. And R is right, it would be a perfect doll quilt 😉 The embroidery is so cute too!

  2. Gayle Says:

    Are you kidding me?? These blocks are AMAZING!! You are avrock star! ;-D

  3. […] and I can’t forget the winter/ Scandinavian themed block for Jessica that I posted (HERE) last […]


Leave a Reply

