YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

GO! August 25, 2010

Krista asked us to make her some improvised blocks (12.5″) for the Not Your Grandma’s Quilting Bee (August)

with THIS quilt as her inspiration.

She sent several strips of linen in neutral colors to all of us

and then a few different scraps of Anna Maria Horner “Good Folks” and some Kaffe Fassett “Shot Cottons” as well.

Here is what I came up with =0)

Block 1

Block 2

This was my first time completely improvising a block without any pattern or instructions…

not bad for a first try???

Block 2 is much more pieced because I had only scraps left to use, but I think I actually prefer it to block 1.

At any rate, I hope she likes them both and I look forward to see her finished quilt!

PS- just have to share this FABULOUS giveaway from Heather over at a la mode fabric HERE

can’t believe she is giving away an AccuQuilt Go! Cutter along with three dies ~ EEEEK!

I have been saving and saving and saving up to buy one of these, but my savings always dwindles???

Maybe, just maybe, I’ll be the lucky winner!!

We’ll if it isn’t me I certainly hope its you ;0)

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

