YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Super Rad Rugged Field Bag August 23, 2010

Filed under: August 2010,Gifts,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 7:22 am

My Nephew’s 4th birthday was last month

and I finally got around to putting his gift together!!!

Is that so terrible???

In all fairness, I was waiting until I came across the perfect project…

and I have to say I think I’m spot on with this one!

My “Bestie” Molly sent me THIS link for an easy tutorial for a kids recycled field bag

which is what I used to make my upcycled “Super Rad Rugged Field Bag”.

My sweet friend Stephanie ~Mother to two growing boys~

generously gave me TWO pairs of cargo pants they had outgrown for this project!

I used a boys size 7 which made the perfect sized bag for a little one.

Really can’t imagine using anything smaller and might even try a size or two larger next time???

The seams of the cargos were quite bulky…

I broke my regular needle on my sewing machine and ended up switching to a “jeans” needle.

I thought making the box with an x in it would reinforce the straps nicely and it makes it look kind of cool too.

To make the straps, I cut three 2 1/4 pieces from each pant leg near the bottom

(these cuts were horizontal ~ I first cut straight up the pant leg to make the fabric flat)

and then pieced them together.

I think the straps and the unfinished top hem makes it look more rugged ;p

And to go inside his Super Rad Rugged Field Bag

I ordered THIS magnifying glass

and THIS book “The National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Reptiles and Amphibians”.

R. got THIS N.A.S. Field Guide to New England years ago

and uses it all of the time to look up things she finds in our backyard.

Hoping he will love his field guide as much as R. does!

Now to find some cargos that R. likes to make her a bag too…

although I am a bit scared as to what might come into the house from our creek in it!

Happy sewing,
Colette

 

5 Responses to “Super Rad Rugged Field Bag”

  1. tasha Says:

    i LOVE the upcycled cargo bag! how cute….but in a cool way. 😉

  2. Molly Says:

    This turned out so cute. Perfect gift for a ‘lil’ adventurer!

  3. Gayle Says:

    What a great crafty gift for a boy, Colette! I love the “guzzintuh”, too. I’m thinking seriously about making one for my own little W.


Leave a Reply

