YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Tahitian Shawl Quilt Top August 22, 2010

Filed under: August 2010,Gifts,Quilting,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 9:16 am

My “Tahitian Shawl” quilt top for my Mum’s birthday.


Made using the Russian Shawl quilt pattern in Jane Brocket’s “The Gentle Art of Quiltmaking”.

I really can’t say enough just how much I LOVE this book (HERE)

and I hope to try and make just about every quilt in it =0)

This throw quilt is much larger than I expected…

ha ha, don’t know why I never grasp the dimensions in my mind correctly!

The pattern instructions were very clear and easy to follow.

The first few “rounds” I whipped up the first day

and then I completed a round here and there as I had time.

Really though, it came together very quickly!

Martha Nelgley large floral fabrics (purchased from Alewives HERE) were my primary inspiration for this quilt

and a touch of Kaffe Fassett and Jennifer Pagnelli are used in the small borders.

This is my first “girly” quilt I have made and it was so fun working with the pink and purples (as per my Mum’s request).

Now to get some backing fabric…it takes a whopping 4 1/2 yards!

This may take a while as I used all of my fun money to order a super cute (and funky!) pair of Kate Spade eye glasses…

I so look forward to being able to see clearly!

Happy quilting,

Colette

 

3 Responses to “Tahitian Shawl Quilt Top”

  1. Jenny Says:

    love your quilt Colette! we must be on the same crafty wavelength! just got a fabulous order from Alewives AND i just put jane brocketts book on hold at the library!!

  2. Molly Says:

    OMG…sooooo beautiful! You really outdid yourself!!

  3. Gayle Says:

    So pretty!


Leave a Reply

