YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Best Berry Smoothies August 13, 2010

Filed under: August 2010,Recipes — The Threaded Nest @ 10:54 am
Tags: ,

Summer Time = Smoothie Time!

R. does not like to eat her fuits and veggies…

if I didn’t give birth to her I would swear she was not my child ;0)

However, she does LOVE smoothies, so its a great way to sneak those important nutrients in to her diet.

Ha, ha this picture was taken this morning and you would think it was winter here.

Just a chilly morning … fall is just around the corner … BIG sigh!

Anywho ~ here is her favorite smoothie recipe:

1 cup of vanilla yogurt

(If I don’t have homemade yogurt I use the Stoney Field Farm Organic with Cream on Top)

5-6 oz frozen fruit

(R. likes strawberries and blueberries)

1/2 cup PLAIN soymilk

(I sometimes use vanilla if I am using plain yogurt, although you could use regular milk too)

and a LARGE splash of juice

(orange juice for a more tangy smoothie or apple juice for a more sweet one)

If you have a banana you can throw in a half of one (end cut off because it is bitter)

and if I have some ground flax in the freezer or flax seed oil in the fridge I like to sneak in a bit of that too!

But my secret to the perfect smoothie is my Vitamix blender (more info HERE)!

I’ve had it for 5 years now and besides my Kitchen Aid stand mixer it is the most used kitchen appliance in our house.

R. is very particular about lumps or seeds in her food (she gets her texture aversions from me…ugh)

and when I use my Vitamix it comes out so smooth that she never complains.

It also breaks the whole food down to the cellular level so your body can more fully absorb the vital nutrients.

Really I can’t rave enough about it!

My bestie Molly convinced me to get one and it is one of the smartest purchases I’ve ever made (worth every penny!)

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe??? I’d LOVE to try it!

Happy smoothie making,

Colette

 

3 Responses to “Best Berry Smoothies”

  1. tasha Says:

    hi colette!

    we LOVE making smoothies at our house too! they’re such a healthy, but yummy way to start the day and trust me….we surely need more healthy eating, so these are great. your daughter is just adorable!

    i scrolled through several posts and love all your projects…wow! and those muffins look so yum. i could eat a couple right now!!

    have a wonderful weekend. πŸ™‚

    Tasha

  2. Molly Says:

    Just got some popsicle molds I had ordered in the mail today and went peach picking. We’ll be making frozen peach smoothies πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

