YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Hexie Love June 9, 2010

Filed under: June 2010,Quilting,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 10:17 am
Tags: , ,

There has been a HUGE explosion of hexagons on flickr and blogs (a favorite HERE)…

groups, swaps, quilts and handmade goodies…

you name it and you could probably find it made with hexies…

and I certainly couldn’t resist joining in on the hexie craze!

You know I love hand stitching while watching a movie (Pride and Prejudice 2005 for these)

and I have to say these are quite ADDICTING to make ;0)

I finally broke into my Heather Ross stash to make up these little 1″ cuties!

The Farmers Market has got to be my most favorite of these =0)

After reading Jane Brocket’s The Gentle Art of Quiltmaking, I have a new obsession

with Kaffe Fassett, Martha Negley, and Philip Jacobs fabrics,

so I made up a few hexies with my scraps and I absolutely LOVE them!!!

Bright, beautiful, and cherry I must say ;0)

And then there are my lonely little Denyse Schmidt hexies…

so sad RIGHT I know!

I had ordered one of her scrap bags from her shop

and was EXTREMELY disappointed to discover that all of the scraps

excepting a few

were not from HER fabrics =0(

But I made these two as a start and ADORE them nonetheless.

Can’t wait to keep adding to my hexie collection!

I am not sure yet what I will make with them though…

a quilt would be NICE!

For more info on how to make your own stack of hexies head over HERE.

Happy sewing.
Colette

 

One Response to “Hexie Love”

  1. Jess Says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! Pretty…portable…great as an alternative to knitting as I watch soccer practice, etc.!
    Jess


Leave a Reply

