YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

I tried machine quilting May 31, 2010

Filed under: May 2010,Sewing,Swaps — The Threaded Nest @ 1:15 pm

and I LOVED it!

Here is the front of the chair pillow I made for the Pillow Talk Swap 3.

(actually this is the FIRST quilted pillow I’ve EVER made!)

I did a little shadow quilting on my sewing machine using my walking foot…

I didn’t want the quilting to distract from the piecing or be too busy.

Printed fabrics from Michelle Engel Bencsko “Shade Garden” and “Dogwood” collections for Henry Glass

A little Amy Butler strip of fabric on the back that matches the Kona Cactus piping.

I used my new “piping/cording foot” and it worked FANTASTIC!

I didn’t have a 16″ pillow form to photograph the finished pillow with…

or a store selling one within 45 minutes…

so I hope my swap partner will photograph it for me ;0)

And the BEST thing about an envelope style back is there is no HAND stitching!

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

2 Responses to “I tried machine quilting”

  1. What a lovely pillow…it looks really great. I love the colours that you’ve used.

  2. Molly Says:

    Wow, so pretty. She’s going to love it!


Leave a Reply

