YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Turning Twelve… May 29, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,May 2010,Quilting,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 9:21 am
Tags: ,

This time around I turned twelve, instead of twenty (quilt here), and it was sooo much easier!

Maybe it was easier because this is the second time I’ve worked up the Turning Twenty pattern (here)…

or maybe because with every stitch lovingly sewn came with it the intention of good health and love for my Father?

As this will be a quilt for him to comfort and keep him warm at his cancer treatments,

I sought to use a soothing color palette of greens, blues, and beiges.

I wanted it to be masculine, but not overbearingly so…

there is one small-scale floral in a celery green with a white background snuck in there.

It’s funny how much I LOVE this floral fabric.

I really hesitated to add it, but am so glad that I did.

In fact, I think it is my most favorite of all of the fabrics in this quilt ;0)

Wishing you a lovely long weekend!

Happy sewing,
Colette

 

One Response to “Turning Twelve…”

  1. Molly Says:

    Really beautiful. I love the fabric choices. He’s going to LOVE it 🙂


Leave a Reply

