YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Make Way May 24, 2010

Filed under: Books,May 2010,Quilting — The Threaded Nest @ 4:38 pm

I couldn’t help myself from smiling this morning thinking

Make way for the ducklings!

as I began to tackle some of the WIPs in my sewing room.

Isn’t it lovely how your mind wonders to HAPPY thoughts when you are in the thick of sewing?

Make Way for the Ducklings by Robert McCloskey is a book I read many MANY times to R. when she was younger.

It makes me think of warm summer nights (it is wicked hot here right now!) and new beginnings.

I am definitely ready to be finished with my current projects and to begin some new ones!

Nothing bothers me more in my sewing room than a stack of half finished projects.

My goal this week is to clear out my sewing room to “make way” for some FRESH new quilts

inspired by this AMAZING book The Gentle Art of Quiltmaking by Jane Brocket ;0)

I have to say that this book has taken the spot as my MOST favorite quilting book in my sewing library!

I’ve never taken much notice to the Kaffe Fassett or Martha Negley fabrics,

but after seeing the “vintagey” looking quilts in this book I am TOTALLY in love with them!

I’ve ordered some Kaffe Fassett and Martha Negley samples (just add .063 of a yard to your cart) from Alewives Fabrics

in an attempt to select a “color story” (she actually guides you how to do this)

to make a quilt similar to the Purple Rain one in the book.

REALLY, I can’t wait to get started on it!

Happy sewing,

Colette



 

One Response to “Make Way”

  1. Molly Says:

    I remember reading that to the kiddos before we went to Boston (sigh)! Can’t wait till we can get out there again and can see all your projects in person. By-the-way we woke up to snow yesterday morning!!


Leave a Reply

