YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Mama’s House May 18, 2010

Filed under: Quilting,Virtual Quilting Bees — The Threaded Nest @ 7:46 am

June is Lael’s month for the Not Your Grandma’s Quilting Bee.

She chose a farm house themed blockand then left the second block up to our own creativity.

Now maybe I’ve been been reading a bit TOO MUCH Jane Austen

but I think every house needs a “Proper Lady”

so I made a sweet little mama to go along with her house ;0)

I used The ‘Burbs pattern from my favorite quilting book Material Obsession

as inspiration and did some IMPROVISATION as the book suggested.

Lael sent most of the fabrics I used and then I added some scraps from my own fabric stash.

For a first attempt at making these blocks, I am so PLEASED with how they turned out.

Enjoy Lael!

Happy quilting,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

