YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

It could always be… May 14, 2010

Filed under: Alewives Virtual Turning Twenty Class,May 2010,Quilting — The Threaded Nest @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , ,

Did you know I was a high school quilting class DROPOUT???

Yes indeedy, my Mum and I took a quilting class together when I was about seventeen

but we NEVER made it to the point where we finished our quilt tops.

I have a TERRIBLE time making up my mind when it comes down to

picking fabrics for the quilt

and border fabric

and binding fabric…

so WILLY NILLY, I know, right?

Well no more, I am finished with my Turning Twenty quilt top AND

I am DETERMINED to finish my Virtual Turning Twenty Class (original post here) with Rhea at Alewives Fabric =0)

(This crazy amount of work was for classes four, five, and six!)

I also got my (very simple) back sewn up and I had to laugh at her instructions that said basically

to forget about those lovely pieced backs by Denyse Schmidt or Ashley from Film in the Fridge

that until we understand the rules we can’t break them.

Ha, ha she MUST have know that was going to be my next question.

I do ask A LOT of questions.

Off in the mail to Alewives Fabrics (here) it all went today to to be long-arm quilted by Barbara.

I am so anxious to see what design she picks to quilt it!

When it returns all pretty and quilted, all I will have to do is add my binding.

Kona cotton in Raisin (on the far right) is what I am going to use for the binding (well, I am MOSTLY sure anyways).

I REALLY am trying NOT to second guess my choices with this quilt so far,

and I figure if it doesn’t look good in my bedroom it can always become a picnic blanket, ha ha  ;0)

Happy sewing,
Colette

 

7 Responses to “It could always be…”

  1. Molly Says:

    OMG…it’s soooo beautiful! Can’t wait to see it all finished. Great work 🙂

  2. Amber Says:

    It’s gorgeous – and that dark purple will look amazing as the binding!

  3. Leah Says:

    Who is Barbara and where did you find her? I have been wanting to find someone who will quilt my quilt tops! I hate doing it and can not do it as well as so many I have seen!

    • Barbara is the long arm quilter at Alewives Fabrics in Maine. I sent my quilt to their shop and she is working on it and will send it back when she is finished. She came highly recommended by Rhea (Alewives Girl blog and owner–her blog link is on the Web page) but this will be the first piece she has done for me. You can call the shop or send Rhea an email by visiting the Website here:

      http://www.alewivesfabrics.com/contact

      Hope this information is helpful!

  4. Susan Says:

    Colette, It’s beautiful!! I’m a ‘classmate’ of yours. I’m planning on starting the hand stitching myself tonight. 🙂 whew, it seems like an awful LOT of handstitching!
    s.

  5. […] @ 9:21 am Tags: quilt, Turning Twenty This time around I turned twelve, instead of twenty (quilt here), and it was sooo much […]

  6. […] the first (here) I sent to her shop to be quilted and I have yet to add the […]


Leave a Reply

