YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Jane Austen Challenge Update May 11, 2010

Filed under: Books,Jane Austen Challenge — The Threaded Nest @ 8:18 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Back in February I signed up for the Jane Austen Challenge (original post here) at the fanatic level.

My original list with the books I read crossed out is as follows:

  1. (J.A) Pride and Prejudice
  2. (J.A) Mansfield Park
  3. (J.A) Emma
  4. (J.A) Northanger Abbey
  5. (J.A) Persuasion
  6. (J.A) Sense and Sensibility
  7. Re-write: Lady Vernon and her Daughter
  8. Contemporary:  My BFF
  9. Contemporary:  Jane Austen Ruined My Life
  10. Contemporary:  Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart
  11. Sequel:  The Other Mr. Darcy

BUT I’m a bit willy nilly and have since updated my list:

  1. Pride and Prejudice (even better the second time around!)
  2. Sandition (fantastic, but sadly unfinished)
  3. Emma (still need to read again)
  4. Sense and Sensibilty (still need to read again)
  5. The Other Mr. Darcy: Did you know Mr. Darcy had an American cous... by Monica Fairview The Other Mr. Darcy: Did you know Mr. Darcy had an American cousin? (probably the BEST JA sequel ever written!)
  6. The Darcy Cousins (Paperback) by Monica Fairview The Darcy Cousins (sequel to The Other MR. Darcy and just as SUPERB!)
  7. A Noteworthy Courtship (Paperback) by Laura Sanchez A Noteworthy Courtship (another of my most favorites!)
  8. Captain Wentworth's Persuasion: Jane Austen's Classic Retold Thr... by Regina Jeffers Captain Wentworth’s Persuasion: Jane Austen’s Classic Retold Through His Eyes (just finished this highly enjoyable Persuasion sequel)
  9. Austenland (Hardcover) by Shannon Hale Austenland (a unique premise and a fun read)
  10. Jane Austen Ruined My Life (Paperback) by Beth Pattillo Jane Austen Ruined My Life (I did not care for the ending)
  11. Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart (Paperback) by Beth Pattillo Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart (Much better than her first book Jane Austen Ruined My Life)
  12. The Man Who Loved Jane Austen (Paperback) by Sally Smith O'Rourke The Man Who Loved Jane Austen (super cute)
  13. Me and Mr. Darcy (Paperback) by Alexandra Potter Me and Mr. Darcy (fun light read)
  14. The Last Man in the World: A Pride & Prejudice Variation (Paperb... by Abigail Reynolds The Last Man in the World: A Pride & Prejudice Variation (just OK)
  15. Jane Bites Back (Paperback) by Michael Thomas Ford Jane Bites Back (didn’t care for it at all)

So I guess other than rereading Emma and Sense and Sensibilty, I have surpassed my goal for the year ;0)

My next book TBR (and it is on its way!) is

The Man Who Loved Pride and Prejudice: A modern love story with ... by Abigail Reynolds The Man Who Loved Pride and Prejudice: A modern love story with a Jane Austen twist

As Jane Austen wrote in Pride and Prejudice

I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of anything than of a book!

Happy reading,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

