YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Map of the States Blocks May 5, 2010

Look what I got in the mail!

This is a “Map of the States” block that I received from Jeni B for our 3×6 Mini Sampler Bee

AND its the first “bee” block I’ve ever gotten =0)

I requested a block in raspberry, lime, and chocolate and I am TOTALLY in love with it!

In fact, I was so inspired by it, that I chose to make a Map of the Sates block for Janet in the Not Your Grandma’s Quilting Bee.

OK, so I have A LOT of “states” there, and it took FOREVER to fussy cut and sew…

BUT IT WAS SO WORTH IT!

When I trimmed up my block it was 12.5″ X 12.25″???

It was supposed to be a 12.5″ inch square…

so I ended up snipping a bit off and adding this fabulous Monaluna Mingle Dots in canary border

AND I like it even BETTER!!!

I love LOVE love how each of the fabrics are showcased because they were fussy cut.

I can’t imagine making an entire quilt with this block by myself…

however, it would be a fabulous “Bee” block so everyone could help me???

Something to think about!

Now to make one for yourself or somebody else,

grab some scraps and your patience and follow this easy tutorial over HERE at Oh Fransson!

AND of course I am stealing Jeni B’s wrapping idea!

Well alright, she gave me permission, so its not REALLY stealing, ha ha.

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

2 Responses to “Map of the States Blocks”

  1. Jeni Says:

    I’m glad you liked it so well! Yours turned out great, love the border, it adds a lot to it! 😀

  2. […] my own fabric here and there to the scraps left from the “Map of the States” (blogged here) […]


Leave a Reply

