YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Turning Twenty Class 1 April 15, 2010

Filed under: Alewives Virtual Turning Twenty Class,Quilting,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 6:48 am
Tags: , ,

Finally got my cutting finished for my Turning Twenty Quilt (original post here and fabric post here).

I was just getting ready to work on this weeks homework, sewing (yaay I picked up my sewing machine and it is all tuned up!) part of the blocks, when I came to the conclusion that it might look better some Kona solid pieces in there.

This handy little Kona cotton solids color chart with swatches really comes in handy when matching up colors.

I ordered mine from Pink Chalk Fabrics (here) and I’ve seen them on Etsy as well.

I love love love all of these gorgeous Kona colors!!!

I think I have decided to go with Kona “Coal” for the border and “Raisin” for the binding.

I know I want to add a couple of pieces of coal to the quilt blocks…but am considering throwing in a few squares of solids in green and aqua and maybe even raisin…

Still undecided on which fabric or fabrics to use on the back.

I’ve ordered a couple of fat quarters off Etsy (from Sew Deerly Loved here) and am going to wait until I get them before I start sewing any blocks.

That will leave me behind in the class though…

DRAT ~ I hate being behind!

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

