YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Semi-Fantastic Mr. Fox March 22, 2010

Just finished sewing up the pieces for R.’s Semi-fantastic Mr. Fox! I just need to stuff it, slip stitch the openings closed, and attach the accessories. It was super easy and really fun to sew up.  The BEST part was that there was no tracing and cutting involved! I have decided to give it to her along with the “Fantastic Mr. Fox” book to her for her birthday rather than Easter because there is no way her quilt will be finished in the next two weeks.

I had so much fun sewing Mr. Fox that I asked Annie from Bird and Little Bird (Etsy Shop here) to set up a custom listing for me for a Mostly Marvelous Ms. Rabbit kit with the fabric shown in the center of this trio (here) to replace the fox doll in R.’s Easter basket.  There’s still time to order one for your little ones!

Her kits come with everything cut and ready to be sewn (shown above: I had already sewn most of it together before I thought to take a photo) as well as most of the materials to finish it.  I am figuring it will take about four hours, start to finish, to complete Mr. Fox.  Her instructions are clear and include helpful photos…my only suggestion for new sewers is to remember to clip your corners and around the curves before turning your pieces right side out.

Oh and if you don’t want to make one yourself, Annie sells custom handmade foxes and rabbits too!

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

4 Responses to “Semi-Fantastic Mr. Fox”

  1. Molly Says:

    Oh, so cute. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. […] If you missed my first post about these adorable kits, please check it out here! […]

  3. […] in that I had Annie give me the fabric to make a patchwork scarf (like the Semi-Fantastic Mr. Fox here) instead of the usual felt one and she gave me fabric for the pocket (and even made me the […]

  4. […] This little fox was made from a kit from Bird and Little Bird (original post here). […]


Leave a Reply

