YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Patterns March 12, 2010

Filed under: March 2010,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 5:20 am
Tags: , , ,

I always trace my patterns onto Swedish tracing paper, but I admit when starting my Anna Tunic (here) I got incredibly lazy and just cut the pattern out.  I was careful to take my measurements and choose the correct size and fortunate for me, it fits!  ha ha, I think I have finally learned my lesson…use my measurements and not my “store size” (but I do like my store size so much better!)  I am afraid now that I’ve just cut I will never go back to tracing again!  I am curious…do you just cut or take the time to trace?

I tried a couple of pairs of scissors floating around here and none would do the job of a nice clean cut on the pattern paper.  I jumped in my car and drove to Rite-Aid and found the most amazing scissors ever!!!  They are the Westcott Titanium Bonded 8″ straight handle (here) and they cut effortlessly through the pattern paper (well worth the $12 I spent on them).  They are staying in my sewing box and are NOT to be used to make holes in clay or to cut cardboard (R.) or to cut plants or pop open metal lids (D.), in fact they are only to be used by me!

My Anna Tunic is just about completed…will be back this weekend with pics and a pattern review.

PS- Join the fun at Austenprose (here) for a group reading and discussion of Jane Austen’s unfinished novel “Sandition”…it begins next week so hurry over!

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

One Response to “Patterns”

  1. Jess Says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished product!


Leave a Reply

