YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Must Make Brownies! March 6, 2010

Filed under: March 2010,Recipes — The Threaded Nest @ 5:01 am
Tags: , , , ,

The other afternoon, R. and I were frantically searching the pantry for something chocolaty delicious to eat, and unfortunately R. came across a box of brownie mix (D. must have bought this because I never make “boxed” brownies), and she begged me to make them (I think she was fascinated by the idea of boxed brownies, ha ha).  Well, it would have to suffice because the alternative was driving to the food co-op in town to buy some good dark chocolate (not having chocolate was not an option at this point) and I really didn’t feel like getting dressed in something proper(oh the benefits of homeschooling).

I got out the eggs and grabbed the oil only to discover that there was scarcely half of what was necessary to make them.  Oh darn, we would just have to find a recipe online that used butter and came across the recipe for “Best Cocoa Brownies” over here on epicurious.  It thought it was interesting how the butter sugar and cocoa are to be cooked together in a glass bowl over simmering water and I am sure I have never made brownies with just cocoa….I admit I was a bit nervous.  I didn’t have enough Scharffen Berger cocoa left (I bet this would have been divine!) so I used Hershey’s Cocoa instead and they turned out amazing!

I love that you line your baking pan with parchment paper hanging over the sides of the pan (why have I not done this before???) because they pulled right out and didn’t stick to the paper at all.  The recipe says to use a wooden spoon to stir in the vanilla, eggs, etc., but I was lazy and just used my stand mixer.  These brownies are very thin, crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside, and by far the most delicious (a moist rich chocolaty delight) brownies I have ever eaten!!

You must make these…I promise you will not be disappointed!!!

Happy baking,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

