YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Sewing Inspirations March 4, 2010

Filed under: March 2010,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 7:25 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I just love when my sewing supplies finally make it to my house!  It’s seriously like receiving a present…ha, ha it even looks like one!

I know I have said it many times, but I love Alewives Fabrics (here)!  I am all about supporting local “Independent” stores, and since I don’t have one close to me (we have a big box store about an hour from here), I love supporting this Mother/Daughter owned and run store out of Maine (I consider all of New England local).

Whenever I order something online from them, I always add a few fabric swatches to my cart for my sewing journal.  Some of the pages have pictures of the patterns I would like to make along with fabric swatches, and other pages are just filled with fabric swatches that I find inspiring.

My little blank journal “I love you, friend” is from Sarah Jane (can be found in her Sarah Jane Studios Etsy shop here) and through Friday evening she is offering a “buy two get one free” on everything ~ cards, journals, and prints (find out more at her blog here).

I use this journal to gather the things I would like to sew and possible fabrics I would like to make them up in.  This is a page I had done for the Schoolhouse Tunic (here).

This is a page I put together for the “Prairie Girl” and “Little Prairie Girl” blouse I plan to make.  It is a Favorite Things pattern… the women’s pattern I ordered from Alewives here (they will be getting more in soon!) and ended up ordering the little girl’s pattern on Etsy from here.  R. wants me to make hers with the Erin McMorris Pebbles turquoise Fabric (right page bottom left) and I think I am going to do mine in one of Anna Maria Horner’s cotton voiles (top left page and bottom right page).

How sweet is Rhea (the Daughter and Manager of Alewives)…when I emailed her that I was making the Anna Tunic (Pattern by Amy Butler … Rhea blogged about it here) and would really appreciate it if she could find some thread and buttons to go with the fabric I purchased (Amy Butler’s Park Fountain Mustard here), that she took the time out of her busy day to select them and email pictures for me to “okay” and them added them to my fabric order? Now that is what I consider great customer service!  I can’t tell you how perfect the thread match is and how pretty those buttons are (the pictures don’t do them justice!)

Now that I have all of my supplies, I am hoping to get started today and finish up this Anna Tunic this weekend…

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

2 Responses to “Sewing Inspirations”

  1. jane Says:

    Your journal is so inspiring Colette, I must start one myself now.
    I feel the same way when fabric/supplies arrives in the mail.
    I haven’t started the Anna Tunic, but it is on the “to do” list.
    The fabric you chose is going to be very cute.
    Have you tried any patterns from the book “Chic and Simple Sewing” seems up your alley.

    Jane


Leave a Reply

