YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Schoolhouse Tunics Finished! February 24, 2010

OK so the first Schoolhouse Tunic (Sew Liberated pattern here) was a tad small across the bust, so off it went to Molly in California as a very early birthday present (ha, ha her birthday is in late June!) which is good because last year her present was three months late!  I had planned on making her one anyway and had her help me pick out the fabric (Amy Butler Daisy Chain in gray) by sending her various links to Alewives Fabrics (here).

I apologize for the horrible picture, but D. was on his way out the door and offered to take it to the post office for me, so I had just a second (and terrible lighting) to take a pic and wrap it up.  This first one was made up in the tunic length.

I chose to go with an Anna Maria Horner fabric, Little Folks ~ Fortune Sun, for mine and to make it in the shirt length instead of the tunic length.

The pictures don’t do it justice…the colors are so pretty and springy (as I sit here typing with a foot and a half of snow outside and it is still snowing!)  I don’t love the turquoise tank under…I will have to pick up a soft lavender next time I am in town.

I wish I would have looked at her pattern sizing in terms of xs, s, m, l, and xl instead of numbers…this is the first piece of clothing I’ve ever made for myself…and I should have used my measurements instead of my “normal store-bought” sizing, as I had to go a size up.  I don’t feel too terrible though, Molly is such a tiny little thing and it fit her perfect!  Lesson learned…really…I know I should have learned that when making my daughter’s “twirly skirt”!

This pattern was easy enough to follow.  A few suggestions though…make sure you mark the pleats on the skirt front and back accurately, as well as the marks on the bodice bottom (where the center of the pleat is supposed to match up), and use an embroidery needle, a double strand of sewing thread, and a  small whip stitch to hand sew the top of the placket to the bodice shoulders (so it won’t show through on the bodice top).  I finished all of my seams by using a small zig-zag stitch and then cut the excess fabric with pinking shears (although I wish I had a serger to finish the seams properly!)

I am excited to make up another one, tunic length, in one of Anna Maria Horner’s cotton voiles.  But first I think I want to make the Amy Butler “Anna Tunic” (here).  I am trying to assemble a small collection of blouses to throw on with Jeans to bring on our trip to D.C. this spring.

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

6 Responses to “Schoolhouse Tunics Finished!”

  1. Allison Says:

    Great job, Colette! I love the fabric choice.

  2. Cara Says:

    I have just discovered your blog and I love it. I am very new to sewing and have bought this pattern hoping it will get me through an Australian autumn and spring, once I have worked up the courage to cut out the pattern. Thank you for sharing your gorgeous pictures and lovely blog.

    • Hi Cara! Welcome! Have you tried tracing your pattern onto Swedish Tracing paper and then cutting that out? I am soooo glad I did this as the first one was too small and also so you can change up your pattern between shirt and tunic length. I know it is an extra step but well worth it when you spend so much on a pattern. Also, you can actually baste the Swedish Tracing paper together to see if it fits ~ pretty great! Can’t wait to hear how it turns out!

      • Cara Says:

        Thank you for the advice. I have been using a very light interfacing, which seems to do the job with multi-size patterns. Will let you know how I go with it. 🙂

  3. […] I use this journal to gather the things I would like to sew and possible fabrics I would like to make them up in.  This is a page I had done for the Schoolhouse Tunic (here). […]


Leave a Reply

