YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Join the 2010 Jane Austen Challenge (Quest) February 14, 2010

What more appropriate way to celebrate being a hopeless romantic on Valentine’s Day than by joining a Jane Austen reading challenge (I am sorry, but I can’t in good conscience call this a challenge…how about a quest?)!  You can join me on this year’s reading quest over at The Life (and lies) of an Inanimate Flying Object blog.  If you need help selecting some books (her reviews rock!) or for more of everything JA visit Laurel Ann over at Austenprose (and see what she’ll be reading this year).

Here is my reading list…and of course I’m going for the Fanatic level:

  1. (J.A) Pride and Prejudice
  2. (J.A) Mansfield Park
  3. (J.A) Emma
  4. (J.A) Northanger Abbey
  5. (J.A) Persuasion
  6. (J.A) Sense and Sensibility
  7. Re-write: Lady Vernon and her Daughter
  8. Contemporary:  My BFF
  9. Contemporary:  Jane Austen Ruined My Life
  10. Contemporary:  Mr. Darcy Broke My Heart
  11. Sequel:  The Other Mr. Darcy

Also, for you Jane Austen fanatics, have you seen the Penguin Classics cloth-bound (with lovely satin bookmarks) editions of Pride and Prejudice, (pictured above) Sense and Sensibility, and available for pre-order to ship in March, Emma???  The P&P, S&S, and Emma covers have been illustrated by well known artist Coralie Bickford-Smith (check out this great interview with her at Design*Sponge).  P&P is out-of-stock on Amazon (I ordered it last week and it said it would ship when it was available) and to my good fortune my copy is scheduled to arrive next week (what more could I ask for on Valentine’s Day???)  Doing the happy dance!

I have been searching for years for just the right hardcover editions to add to my personal library (I read all of JA’s books by lending them out from the local library, with the exception of Lady Susan which I purchased at my local bookstore last summer to take on a trip) and I feel I have finally found them.  I know R. will also enjoy these when she is a bit older.

Definitely worth the mention…I also have my eye on Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre (both library loans too so I don’t own them) and who am I kidding??? I basically want all of the Coralie Bickford-Smith edition books, ha ha.  Penguin Classics rocks (I know I’ve already used that word, sorry but I love it) and is bringing out more novels with cover-designs by Coralie Bickford-Smith as well…crossing my fingers and toes that they will publish all of JA’s novels this way too!

You can never have too many good books or luscious fabrics!

Happy Valentine’s Day!!

Colette

 

3 Responses to “Join the 2010 Jane Austen Challenge (Quest)”

  1. Molly Says:

    Love the new layout! Good luck in your quest. I wish I had the patience to sit and read one of her novels, but I have yet to finish one. One of these days…

  2. xo.sorcha.ox Says:

    Isnt this just a fantastic challenge (“quest”)? I am so excited to start. Even though I read/re-read at least one Jane Austen novel each May, I’m only participating in this challenge at the “newbie” level: Had already signed up for other online challenges by the time I discovered this one. Then, of course, there’s also Mount-TBR…
    ~S.

    • Just have to say I enjoyed your book reviews on your blog. I loved Wuthering Heights…so scandalous for it’s time! Have you read “The Tenant of Wildfell Hall” by the lesser known Bronte Sister, Anne? I thought it was the best of all of their books.


Leave a Reply

