YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Easy Appliqued Tees February 9, 2010

Filed under: February 2010,Gifts,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 3:13 pm
Tags: , , , ,

My Joann Fabric package finally arrived yesterday with my threads ~ whooohooo!  Finished up two birthday gifts that have been taunting me (can’t believe it took almost two weeks for my package to arrive!) I just wish the lightening inside my house was better so you could see how cute these projects really turned out.

The detailed instructions for making these can be found in “Bend-the-Rules Sewing” by Amy Karol.  I purchased two white 100% premium pima cotton baby tees on Etsy from readytoembroider in sizes 2T and 3T for a 1 and 2 yr old (respectively), thinking baby tees run a bit small.   These run a bit big so it wasn’t necessary.  I am thinking they are going to have to grow into these…

I followed the instructions on the HeatnBond Lite to fuse the fabric to the tees and then used a zig-zag stitch on my sewing machine with an open-toe darner foot to stitch around the shape.

For the gnome tee I cut a 2.5″ circle using a compass to raw it first and set my width to 4 and my length to .2.  I love the” little gnomies” orange fabric that I purchased on Etsy from alittlesweetness.

This is the first time I have ever done applique and I am impressed with how easy it is!  In the future I think I will fudge with the settings on my machine a bit to change up the zig-zag.

For this tee I used an Alexander Henry fabric “ready set robot” in red.  This time I just cut about 1/4″ around the robot with my scissors and set my sewing machine width to 2.5 and  length to .5.

R. made a couple of birthday cards and we wrapped them up with a piece of tissue paper and adorned with a ribbon and those great recycled paper flowers (I will never need to buy bows again!!!)

Gifts 5 and 6 finished!  These appliqued tees will definitely be turning up at lots of birthday parties this year.

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

Leave a Reply

