YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

One Small Change February February 1, 2010

I am happy to report that I got all of the pieces for R.’s “Far Far Away Charm School” quilt cut and the blocks somewhat laid out yesterday.  It was tedious work, but I actually kind of enjoyed fussy cutting the blocks as I felt like an artist capturing the exact images desired.  I tend to be a follow the rules — follow the pattern exactly — kind of gal, and am quite proud of myself for stepping outside my comfort zone and using my own artistic talents (I have to have some in there somewhere, right?) to create the different blocks.  Now if only that quilting thread would hurry on its merry way to my house a bit quicker I could start sewing it together…

I am thrilled to share my February One Small Change commitment with you!  We consume tons of yogurt around here, and I do mean tons (R. may be wiry, but she eats more than me!), we also go through a lot of bread and I can’t help feeling bad about all of that wasted packaging.  For February, I am committing to make all of my own yogurt and all of our bread for the entire month.  I purchased the Cuisipro Donvier Yogurt Maker and I can’t wait to see the reduction in non-recyclable plastic yogurt cups around here this month.  Not to mention how much healthier it is to make your own.  Pictured above is my first batch of yogurt and the homemade French Chocolate Granola from Orangette drizzled with honey.  I can’t tell you how divine this is (and I saved on the packaging of the granola too)!

R. and I also had fun baking this loaf of Carrot Papaya bread from the “Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day” cookbook.  The Waldorf tradition is very big into baking bread with children so this will be a regular part of our weekly homeschool schedule.  Between the Healthy Bread cookbook and their other “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day” we have hundreds of recipes to experiment with.  It really is so easy and the reward is wonderful healthy bread (minus the plastic packaging and all of the chemicals and preservatives).  The idea is that you whip up a big batch of dough and keep it in the refrigerator (or freeze it) to use over the next 5-7 days.  We also made the Challah bread from Artisan Bread but changed out half of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat and it was very yummy (we made some of it into french toast and some of it into cinnamon raisin bread they were incredible!) and moist.

We also whipped up a honey cream cheese spread (also from Healthy Bread) for the carrot bread to make it into a little desert.  Not as good as my pineapple carrot cake…but unlike the carrot cake that is loaded with fat and sugar, this bread has no oil or butter added to it so you can enjoy it guilt free.

Think of the difference we can make if we all just commit to One Small Change?  Drop by Hip Mountain Mama’s blog for more inspiration and to sign up for the challenge!

Happy sewing,

Colette

 

7 Responses to “One Small Change February”

  1. shaunta Says:

    I’m curious, but a little scared, about trying to make my own yogurt. Your breakfast looks so yummy though! I’m going to look into it more. I love how much I’m learning from everyone.

    • Really, it is so easy! I used the recipe that came with my yogurt maker and tried starting it out both in the microwave and on the stove top…the microwave is much easier and turned out better yogurt. I hope to hear how it turns out if you do try it =0)

  2. Jess Says:

    Colette,
    We must be on the same wavelength…I was just yesterday thinking about all of the empty yogurt containers piling up in my garbage, and contemplating learning how to make my own yogurt! You have inspired me. I am going to make your chocolate granola this afternoon with the girls. (Healthy chocolate for breakfast?! That is right up my alley!)
    Jess

  3. So awesome! I have never made yogurt, but it is on my list of things I would like to try! It really is going to save so many plastic containers…and that granola looks so yummy!!

  4. Wendy Says:

    Impressive–making my own yogurt always sounded intimidating. I’ll check back to see how it goes.


Leave a Reply

