YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

First Gift Finished! January 21, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,January 2010,Needlework,Sewing — The Threaded Nest @ 1:39 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

As promised, here is the photo of my finished sweets mat from “Linen Wool Cotton” by Akiko Mano along with the beautiful authentic Japanese tea cup.

I can’t believe my Hubby’s client was going to just throw these away???  They are so beautiful.  Like they say one man’s trash is another woman’s treasure.  How lucky am I?

I finished all four of these yesterday and can’t wait to give them to my dear friend Amy as a belated birthday gift.  I have to say the directions in Akiko Mano’s book were quite easy to follow and I love the detailed drawings, it would be a totally perfect book if she just included some actual patterns with it.  There is a lovely dress and purse I would love to make but am nervous to try  just using the instructions that give angles to cut curves instead of a pattern.  I guess I will have to enlist DH for making the pattern myself.  These mats weren’t difficult to make but were time consuming.  I can’t imagine making these without a walking foot for your sewing machine.  Without the accessory I would be inclined to sew the crocheted lace to the mats by hand.  Now that hers are finished I will have to start on mine.

I am proud to say they are only 2 months late this year…last year she didn’t get her birthday gift until September.  Don’t the sweets mats go great with the Lizzie Kate “Tea Crazy” cross stitch I gave her last year (and I even framed it myself!) that hangs in her kitchen above her dining table (I also made one for my friend Molly and me of course)?  As soon as I saw the sweets mats I knew I had to make them for her.  Our little girls loving going out for tea and having tea parties (as do we!) and I thought these would be perfect for hosting tea parties in her own kitchen.

Aimee's Birthday Gift Last Year

With one gift down I am excited to move onto a gift for my cousins’ son!  I wonder how many gifts I will make this year???

 

One Response to “First Gift Finished!”

  1. […] I based the dimensions ( 6″x8″)on the sweets mats I made at the beginning of the year HERE. […]


Leave a Reply

