YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

My Challenge January 6, 2010

Filed under: Gifts,January 2010,One Small Change,Sewing,Softies — The Threaded Nest @ 3:07 pm
Tags: ,

Hello and welcome to YearofHandmade!  I recently finished reading “Julie and Julia” and was inspired to embark on my own adventure this 2010 year.  I figure if she could spend a year with “MTAOFC” I could certainly hand make all of my gifts for a year.  I love making things, baking, needlework, knitting, and my new passion sewing.  So here I am!

I did indeed make many gifts over Christmas (2009) and helped my daughter make quite a few as well, but we fell well short of making gifts for everyone.  Meet the Waldorf-inspired doll (named by said daughter “Chloe”) I spent 2 weeks of every spare minute of every day locked in my room working on to give her Christmas morning.

I also made her dresses and hat.  Sweet satisfaction was mine when she fell completely in love with her even after receiving “Emily” an American Girl Doll given to her by her Pappy!  Goes to show handmade with love trumps commercial.

I was also inspired by Hip Mountain Mama’s One Small Change Project.  My January change is to commit to making and giving only handmade gifts this year. My hope is that these items will be used (or eaten!) and treasured and not end up in a landfill.  Added bonus…I hope to master (well at least better my skills) the art of sewing in this year long process!

My first gift will be a project for my cousins’ son’s first birthday. I have looked at several great ideas including Counting Bean Bags (tutorial and pattern on Chez Beeper Bebe ), a Baby’s First Book (from “Sew Liberated” by Meg McElwee), and a Memory Game (from “Stitched in Time” by Alicia Paulson).  All of these look like fun but I am leaning towards making a Soft Turtle Buddy (from “bend-the-rules SEWING” by Amy karol).  This project doesn’t require much in the way of having to purchase things…I could in fact make it from items all found in my craft stash…but all of my fabric is really girlie and this is for a little boy.  With that said, I have found the most adorable fabric from Cloud9 Fabrics (they are organic!) that I really want to use and will only need 2 fat quarters.  I still have a few days to think about it.  It is coming up on January 17th and I know there is no way I will have it finished before then.  That’s O.K.  I have resigned to the fact that many of my handmade gifts will be late.  I am sure (well…I at least hope) the recipients will understand.

 

2 Responses to “My Challenge”

  1. Thanks for joining the challenge! I love that you are pledging to give handmade all year. Handmade gifts are so incredibly special and I know you will be appreciated all year!
    Good luck!
    Suzy

  2. Amanda Says:

    Love the idea of only giving handmade items as gifts! It’s so much more personal and heartfelt.


Leave a Reply

