YearofHandmade

An eclectic mix of handmade gifts, sewing inspiration, reviews, books, needlework, crafts, homeschooling, baking, and recipes

Mum’s Quilt December 1, 2010

Good news:  I finished my Mum’s quilt in time for her to bring it home with her during our Thanksgiving visit.

Bad News:  It was really over cast, windy, and cloudy every day except our last day and we were to busy rushing around to give the quilt a proper photograph…large sigh.

Nonetheless, I did manage to take a couple of quick shots as it went into her suitcase.

In spite of bursting into tears after attempting to straight line quilt the first few rows

I remained calm and carried on :D

and it turned out beautifully (after I got the hang of dealing with the bulk of this 70″ x 70″ quilt).

One of the greatest things about NOT prewashing your fabrics

is that they shrink and pucker around your quilting

hiding all of those little imperfections!

But best of all…she TOTALLY loved it!!!

“I never imagined it would be this beautiful!”

I just love giving something so special to someone who truly loves and appreciates all of

the time, money, effort, and love that goes into making a quilt.

I can’t wait to start on my Nephew’s quilt next.

Happy quilting,

Colette

 

5 Responses to “Mum’s Quilt”

  1. Gayle Says:

    Your straight line quilting looks marvelous! I can just imagine how thrilled your Mum was to receive such a very special gift!

  2. Jess Says:

    I’m so glad that you are blogging again…I missed your posts while you were away! Once again, Colette, this quilt is just beautiful! I love the colors, and your straight line quilting looks very even to me. Nice job!

  3. Molly Says:

    It’s incredible!! I can see why she TOTALLY loves it!

  4. Jo Ann Moulds Says:

    I just found your blog through Quilt Home. Have to tell you I love your mum’s quilt. The colors and straight line stitching are both great. Can’t imagine how your moved such a large quilt through your machine.

  5. Nic Jones Says:

    This is perfect, I’m sure your mom loves it. I know someone who loves quilting and I’m thinking of giving her something like this. This is perfect for a Christmas gift. I’m a big fan of handmade gifts especially now it’s the holiday season. I’m glad I read your blog, it helped me. Thanks for this post and keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.